Christopher Young – “Birth of Sandman”

Please click the link below to view the full score:

Birth of Sandman – Full Score

Spider-Man 3. I liked it. So sue me. And, I loved the original trilogy. Certainly “2” was my favorite. In high school I went through a brief comic book phase, mostly Spider-Man comics. I had a file at my local comic book shop, Galactic Greg’s, of all the Spider-Man titles at that time: The Amazing Spider-Man, Web of Spider-Man, Spider-Man, The Spectacular Spider-Man and Spider-Man Unlimited among some others. So every week I would ride my bike to Greg’s to get the latest Spider-Man mag. All that to say, while I wouldn’t pretend to be the most hardcore Spidey fan, I’m definitely a big fan of the friendly neighborhood wall crawler with radioactive blood.

I remember that there was talk about a Spider-Man movie happening, and at one point director James Cameron was on board to make it, but after a lot of legal issues, the project was canned along with my hopes and dreams. However, years later all the waiting was made worthwhile by Sam Raimi’s film and the sequels that followed. I loved Danny Elfman’s score from the original two films, and I was particularly struck by Christopher Young’s score at the scene in “3” when Flint Marko is transformed into Sandman. The scene in itself is amazing, but the music is so good, it would have been worth the ticket price alone just to hear it. The title of the cue is “Birth of Sandman” which tragically didn’t make it onto the song soundtrack, much less a score soundtrack.

I consider myself a pretty busy guy, but my wife sometimes observes that I have too much time on my hands. This is one example that she cites:

I spent the good portion of my Saturday one week transcribing this tune for guitar soon after watching “3.” In regard to the video above, sometimes I’ll tape myself on a webcam playing through songs I’m working on. I find it to be a good way to honestly evaluate my playing. Much to my delight, my son steals the show. For that reason, I consider this more of a home video than a legit “music video” as it was taken at our apartment on a webcam, and it contains footage of my kid being cute which probably nobody besides close family will find enjoyable.

That said, I received a request on YouTube for a “tab” of this arrangement, which I was reluctant to give, since I had not made one (having learned it by ear), and I knew that the amount of time it would take for me to notate it would be considerable. But eventually I gave in and made one, so I thought I would share it here as well. I do realize that there is probably not a huge demand for this particular guitar transcription of a somewhat obscure tune, but I figured I spent all this time making it; I might as well share it with the handful of Spider-Man Geek Guitarists out there.

One note about the “tab,” I did make some minor changes to what I played on the video which is common when I write stuff down. This is a great way to evaluate, fine tune, and finalize your music, or in this case, arrangements. Also, I take the details a little more seriously too when I write it down. So as I was “transcribing” what I played on this video, I found some errors when comparing it to Young’s original score that I tried to fix.

Also, I did the arrangement in 12/8 to give it more of a triple feel. I did this because the guitar can’t do crescendos and dynamics with long notes (without a volume pedal) the way that (bowed) string instruments can. So the triplet arpeggio is meant to help the chords resonate more and to give more opportunities for dynamics, and to add a pulse. Certainly, I wouldn’t try to “improve” on Christopher Young’s great score, that would be impossible, and I wouldn’t be the guy to do it if it was. This arrangement just happened because I loved the piece, I love guitar, and as my wife says, I “have too much time on my hands.”

About Robbie Kellogg

I love Jesus, my wife and son, music, and guitars. I love everything from the Beatles and classic rock, to U2, to Petra. I am a sinner who has been rescued by an amazing Savior. Jesus is the one for whom I play guitar. He is the amazing creator who made a beautiful world with many colors, pitches, and tones. Psalms 33:1-5 (NIV)    Sing joyfully to the LORD, you righteous; it is fitting for the upright to praise him. Praise the LORD with the harp; make music to him on the ten-stringed lyre. Sing to him a new song; play skillfully, and shout for joy. For the word of the LORD is right and true; he is faithful in all he does. The LORD loves righteousness and justice; the earth is full of his unfailing love.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christopher Young – “Birth of Sandman”

  1. Nicola Tsoi says:

    Even though Theo stole the show, I think his daddy still makes a very impressive opening act. I think you might have to fire the Cheerios, though. 🙂

  2. It’s been a while since I’ve played this. Thank you for creating the tabs after I asked over and over again. It was very kind of you, and today I remembered the kindness, so I decided to thank you once more after these few years have passed.

  3. William Seiji Lemes Nagata says:

    Thank you for the tabs !!! Cheers from Brazil !

Leave a Reply

